LCN Awards 2016 nominees announced

updated on 08 March 2016

We are pleased to bring you details of the firms and individuals who are nominated for the 13th annual LawCareers.Net Training & Recruitment Awards. The awards will be presented at a glamorous event at Merchant Taylor’s Hall in London on 19 May.

Within the core awards for training and recruitment by firm (large and small, city and regional), we see nominations for previous winners such as Burges Salmon, Farrer & Co, Kirkland & Ellis, Nabarro, Shoosmiths and Travers Smith, whose consistent excellence has been apparent over the years. In the Best Training Principal categories we also see repeat nominations for, among others, Lynn Knight of Shoosmiths, Ben Perry of Sullivan & Cromwell LLP and Suzanne Todd of Withers LLP.

We will be tweeting the results live on the night using #LCNawards16, so be sure to follow @LawCareersNetUK.

Here’s the full list of nominees:

Best Recruiter - Large City Firm

Allen & Overy LLP

Baker & McKenzie

Bird & Bird


Hogan Lovells

Macfarlanes LLP

Slaughter and May


Best Trainer – Large City Firm

Ashurst LLP

Charles Russell Speechlys LLP


Herbert Smith Freehills LLP

Nabarro LLP

Reed Smith

Taylor Wessing


Best Recruiter – Medium City Firm

Bristows LLP

Forsters LLP

Russell-Cooke Solicitors

Mayer Brown International LLP


Travers Smith LLP

Wedlake Bell LLP


Best Trainer – Medium City Firm

Bircham Dyson Bell LLP

Farrer & Co LLP

Goodman Derrick LLP

Hodge Jones & Allen LLP

Kingsley Napley LLP

Marriott Harrison LLP

Withers LLP


Best Recruiter – US Firm in the City

Arnold & Porter (UK) LLP

Cooley (UK) LLP

Covington & Burling LLP

Kirkland & Ellis International LLP

Shearman & Sterling (London) LLP

Weil, Gotshal & Manges


Best Trainer – US Firm in the City

Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld

Latham & Watkins

Milbank Tweed Hadley & McCloy

Morrison & Foerster (UK) LLP

Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe (Europe) LLP

Sullivan & Cromwell LLP


Best Recruiter – National/Large Regional Firm

Burges Salmon LLP



Freeths LLP

Irwin Mitchell

Osborne Clarke LLP

Pinsent Masons LLP


Best Trainer – National/ Large Regional Firm

Bond Dickinson

Eversheds LLP


Squire Patton Boggs (UK) LLP


Walker Morris LLP

Weightmans LLP


Best Recruiter – Medium Regional Firm

Mundays LLP

Roythornes Solicitors

Taylor Walton LLP

Thomson Snell & Passmore

Trethowans LLP

Wilkin Chapman LLP

Withy King


Best Trainer – Medium Regional Firm

Birketts LLP

Blandy & Blandy LLP

Coffin Mew LLP


Foot Anstey LLP

Stevens & Bolton LLP

Tees Law


Best Recruiter – Small Firm

Atherton Godfrey

EC3\Legal LLP

Mills & Co

The Endeavour Partnership LLP

Thackray Williams LLP


Best Trainer - Small Firm

Clarkson Wright & Jakes Ltd

Curzon Green Solicitors

Maples Teesdale LLP

Wrigleys Solicitors LLP

Zyda Law


Best Work Placement Scheme – City Firm

Bird & Bird

K&L Gates LLP


Kirkland & Ellis International LLP

Nabarro LLP

Olswang LLP


Best Work Placement Scheme – Regional Firm

Bevan Brittan LLP

Bond Dickinson

Burges Salmon LLP


Mills & Reeve LLP

Veale Wasbrough Vizards LLP


Best Training Principal (large trainee intake)

Ian Gascoigne – Eversheds LLP

Samantha Roberts – Reed Smith

Lynn Knight – Shoosmiths

Giles Chesher - Squire Patton Boggs (UK) LLP

Kirstie McGuigan – Taylor Wessing

Suzanne Todd – Withers LLP


Best Training Principal (small trainee intake)

Maria Mulroe - Herrington & Carmichael LLP

Peter Todd - Hodge Jones & Allen LLP

Nicola Hill - Kingsley Napley LLP

Ben Perry - Sullivan & Cromwell LLP

Tracy Harris – Taylor Walton LLP

Letitia Glaister - Tees Law


Commendation for Diversity

To be announced at the event.


Law Lecturer of the Year

Daniel Berger – University of Hertfordshire

Michael Gordon – University of Liverpool

David Hodgkinson – University of Derby

Caroline Hunter – University of York

Benjamin Jones – University of South Wales

Mary Lee – University of Sussex

Ryan Murphy – Aston University