LCN Awards 2017: law firm and training principal nominees announced

updated on 28 February 2017

We are delighted to bring you details of the firms and individuals who are nominated for the 14th annual LawCareers.Net Training & Recruitment Awards. The awards will be presented at a glamorous event at Merchant Taylor’s Hall in London on 18 May.

Within the core awards for training and recruitment by firm (large and small, city and regional), we see nominations for many previous winners, including Bird & Bird, Burges Salmon, Farrer & Co, Kirkland & Ellis, Nabarro, Shoosmiths and Travers Smith. In the Best Training Principal categories we also see repeat nominations for, among others, Letitia Glaister of Tees Law and Giles Chesher of Squire Patton Boggs (UK) LLP.

Two other coveted awards, the Commendation for Diversity and Best Law Lecturer, will be announced on the night.

We will be tweeting the results live on the night using #LCNawards17, so be sure to follow @LawCareersNetUK.

Here is the full list of nominees:


Best Recruiter - Large City Firm

Bird & Bird

Clyde & Co LLP

Herbert Smith Freehills LLP

Hogan Lovells

Reed Smith

Simmons & Simmons LLP

Slaughter and May


Best Trainer – Large City Firm

Ashurst LLP

Baker McKenzie

Charles Russell Speechlys LLP


Macfarlanes LLP

Reed Smith

Taylor Wessing


Best Recruiter – Medium City Firm

Bircham Dyson Bell LLP

Bristows LLP

Forsters LLP

Mayer Brown International LLP


Travers Smith LLP

Wedlake Bell LLP


Best Trainer – Medium City Firm

Farrer & Co LLP

Fladgate LLP

Goodman Derrick LLP

Hodge Jones & Allen LLP

Kingsley Napley LLP

Marriott Harrison LLP

Russell-Cooke Solicitors


Best Recruiter – US Firm in the City

Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld

Kirkland & Ellis International LLP

Shearman & Sterling (London) LLP

Covington & Burling LLP

Vinson & Elkins RLLP

Weil, Gotshal & Manges


Best Trainer – US Firm in the City

Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP

Sullivan & Cromwell LLP

Latham & Watkins

Morrison & Foerster (UK) LLP

K&L Gates LLP

White & Case LLP


Best Recruiter – National/Large Regional Firm

Bond Dickinson



Freeths LLP

Irwin Mitchell

Osborne Clarke LLP



Best Trainer – National/ Large Regional Firm

Browne Jacobson LLP

Burges Salmon LLP

Gowling WLG (UK) LLP

Hill Dickinson LLP

Mills & Reeve LLP


Squire Patton Boggs (UK) LLP


Best Recruiter – Medium Regional Firm

Birkett Long LLP

Higgs & Sons

Hugh James


Roythornes Solicitors

Tees Law

Wilkin Chapman LLP


Best Trainer – Medium Regional Firm

Anthony Collins Solicitors

Blaser Mills LLP

Foot Anstey LLP

Forbes Solicitors


Paris Smith LLP

Thomson Snell & Passmore LLP


Best Recruiter – Small Firm

Atherton Godfrey

Curzon Green Solicitors

Maples Teesdale LLP

Thackray Williams LLP

Wilson Solicitors LLP


Best Trainer - Small Firm


Hanne & Co

Lanyon Bowdler Solicitors LLP

Pothecary Witham Weld

Wrigleys Solicitors LLP


Best Work Placement Scheme – City Firm

Baker McKenzie

Bird & Bird

Bristows LLP

Farrer & Co LLP


Shearman & Sterling (London) LLP

Withers LLP


Best Work Placement Scheme – Regional Firm

Bevan Brittan LLP


Burges Salmon LLP


Osborne Clarke LLP


Veale Wasbrough Vizards LLP


Best Training Principal (large trainee intake)

Jonathan Angell - Dechert LLP

Anthony Turner - Farrer & Co LLP

Sean Lavin - Macfarlanes LLP

Simon Hart - RPC

Giles Chesher - Squire Patton Boggs (UK) LLP

Ceri Vokes - Withers LLP


Best Training Principal (small trainee intake)

Stephen Kay - EMW Law LLP      

Stuart Penswick - Forbes Solicitors

Gwen Evans - Hugh James

Sarah Passemard - Paris Smith LLP

Letitia Glaister - Tees Law

Mark Beeley - Vinson & Elkins RLLP


Best Law Lecturer

Adam Baker - University of Leeds

Mihael Jeklic - King's College London

Benjamin Jones - University of South Wales

Mary Lee - University of Sussex

Rachael Mulheron - Queen Mary, University of London

Ruth Rutter - University of Surrey

Andreas Yiannaros - University of Bedfordshire