The University of Law partners with Royal Holloway to deliver SQE prep courses

updated on 08 March 2023

Reading time: two minutes

The University of Law has announced an exclusive partnership with Royal Holloway, University of London that will see it deliver a number of its postgraduate courses from September 2023.

The University of Law’s Legal Practice Course, LLM in Legal Practice (SQE1&2), Solicitors Qualifying Exam prep course, MA Law (Conversion) and Postgraduate Diploma in Law will be offered at Royal Holloway, further extending The University of Law’s presence in Surrey and London. The partnership offers the chance for more students to benefit from and experience The University of Law’s professional training and marks the university’s ninth partnership with leading UK universities.

Matthew Humphreys, executive dean for the school of law and social sciences at Royal Holloway explained that the new courses will enable the university’s students “to stay on to qualify as solicitors and expand their horizons”. Humphreys added: “It also means graduates from non-law courses will have the opportunity to become professionally qualified as solicitors or barristers with the conversion courses.”

The University of Law’s Deputy Vice Chancellor Professor Peter Crisp said: “Royal Holloway is steeped in a rich history, which we are proud to now become a part of. As one of the first places to offer higher education to women, Royal Holloway has always been a pioneer and a champion of diversity. These are two things we hold as core values at The University of Law, so we're looking forward to working together to inspire future legal talent.”

Crisp added: “Our vision is to offer best-in-class professional training to inspire future legal talent, and these partnerships allow us to share that vision with even more ambitious students across the country.”

The University of Law has also partnered with the University of Exeter, University of Sheffield, University of Reading, University of Liverpool, University of East Anglia in Norwich, Newcastle University and the University of Southampton.